NY TIMES

This article in the Times details the complicated habits and happenings of recruiters and the value of athletes in the future. Not only are kids choosing their “specialized” sport earlier they happen to be committing to college before they have even begun high school. As a college athlete, who signed in the begin of her senior year of high school, I can’t imagine the state of mind I would have been in to decide where I was going to college before I entered high school..but I’m not all the surprised. I decided my sport was going to be basketball in probably the fifth grade, from there I was on the road to become a college athlete. Today, these are the athletes our society demands, gone are the days where coaches hope to find highly developed athletes in their second and third year of high school. Sports have taught me so much in my life, but the stress and pressure of choosing a college before the doors to high school open could be disheartening.  

 

Leave a comment